Beauty Fatigue

Beauty lies within. When I look in the mirror, I see a pretty girl, sure. But when I look at the person I have become through these almost 21 years of life, THAT is when I think, “You know what? I’m fucking fabulous.” My self-worth does not lie in the contours of my face or the shape of my body. Nor should my worth to others lie in those things.

Writing to Write

I am tired of beauty.

On one hand, we have the constant barrage of techniques and products for making yourself more beautiful. These include altering your appearance through the use of makeup, hair styling, skin products and procedures, wardrobe choices, body hair removal, and even cosmetic surgery. Some of these seem innocuous. Some women even state they ENJOY their beauty regimen. But some are downright painful. Others are possibly life threatening.

On the other hand, we have a counter movement that is attempting to spread the message that ALL  women are already beautiful! Instead of changing yourself, they say, simply embrace your own unique beauty that you had all along if you would just have the confidence to show it off. At the core of this message is the belief that every woman wants to and deserves to feel beautiful.

I prefer the second message, if those are the only…

View original post 809 more words

Yo dawgs, say words here. Ya know, if you want.

